Recover Your Deleted Google Analytics Account

google analytics trash canWe get calls and emails from clients all the time who have deleted their Google Analytics account and are looking to restore it. We sadly had to send them elsewhere, as there was really no way to restore any of that data once deleted. Read Article

In the upcoming weeks, GA will finally be instituting a trash can. You have 35 days to restore what you’ve deleted. While the trash can won’t be available immediately, starting today what you delete will appear there when it is rolled out.

As for past data before today? Not sure if that is recoverable, might have to let it go.

We all make mistakes, but the damage might seem irrevocable when accidentally deleting crucial reporting information from Google Analytics. Thanks to feedback from our users, we’re pleased to introduce a new feature to provide a safety net each time you delete a view, property or account from your Google Analytics account: the Trash Can.

To get started, navigate to the Administration tab, select an account, and click the Trash Can feature on the left-hand panel. Check off what you want to reclaim, click “Restore,” and voilà! Your view, property or account is now just as it was before you deleted it. Once 35 days pass from the day you originally trashed it, however, you’ll have to say a final goodbye as the data will be removed from the Trash Can and will no longer appear there.